Valmor Prize 2013-2016 – the best architecture of Lisbon

Created in 1902 to award the best architectural works of Lisbon, the annual #valmorprize is still considered the most prestigious Portuguese award for Architecture.

The prize is given by the municipality of Lisbon to be distributed in equal parts among the architect and the promoter. For more than a century, the #valmorprize has been inspiring the the excellence of Lisbon architecture, stimulating the greater public awareness of buildings.

Last December 18th the winners of the #valmorprize - editions 2013 to 2016 - were announced. In total 13 buildings were awarded, four 1st prizes and nine Honourable Mentions.

In order to better promote the four prize winners, the municipality together with the Trienal de Arquitectura de Lisboa have been organizing visits to the buildings and lectures oriented by the awarded architects.

Lisboa Architecture Walks & Trips has been covering these events to further advance interesting details related to the awarded buildings.

Prizes Winners


ETAR de Alcântara, by Frederico Valsassina, Manuel Aires Mateus, e João Ferreira Nunes (architects) / SimTejo (promoter)


Banco de Portugal – Museu do Dinheiro, by João Pedro Falcão de Campos and Gonçalo Byrne (architects) / Banco de Portugal (promoter)


Terraços do Carmo, by Álvaro Siza Vieira with Carlos Castanheira (architects) / Câmara Municipal de Lisboa (promoter)

Paulo Mendes da Rocha, Bak Gordon e João Ferreira Nunes (architects) / DGPC (promoter)


Cine-Teatro Capitólio, by Alberto Souza Oliveira (architect) / Câmara Municipal de Lisboa (promoter)

Honourable Mentions


Lispolis Building, João Luís Carrilho da Graça (architect) / Novasede – Actividades Imobiliárias, SA (promoter) || House at Rua Teófilo Braga, by João Paulo Feio Ribeiro Mateus (architect and promoter) || Severa House, by José Adrião (architect) / Câmara Municipal de Lisboa (promoter)


Habitação na Travessa do Patrocínio, by Luís Maria Belo Rebelo de Andrade (architect) / Sigma Pax Investimentos, SA (promoter) || Teatro Romano, by Daniela Hermano e João Carrasco (architects) / Câmara Municipal de Lisboa (promoter)


House in Restelo, by Ana Mafalda Sequeira Batalha (architect) / Terraquinta, Gestão e Administração de Património Imobiliário SA (promoter) || Museu Nacional dos Coches, by Paulo Mendes da Rocha, Bak Gordon e João Ferreira Nunes (architects) / DGPC (promoter)


Centro Comercial Caleidoscópio, by Pedro Lagrifa Carvalhais de Oliveira (architect) / Universidade de Lisboa (promoter) || MAAT – Museu de Arte, Arquitetura e Tecnologia, by Amanda Jane Levete (architect) / Fundação EDP (promoter)

Link to the List / Trienal de Arquitectura de Lisboa

Post and Photo credits: Lisboa Architecture Walks & Trips

All Posts
Recent Posts